That Mom Blog

Feed me Friday ~ The BEST Nacho Dip.

1 Comment

 

Okay, so maybe it’s not the BEST nacho dip, but it’s pretty damn good – and it’s low fat too! I’ve been eating this dip for years, something my dad used to make growing up and always a favorite.  I’ve changed the recipe slightly from what he did to make it a little bit healthier.

My favorite part about this dip is that you could eat it as is, or top it with as many vegetables as you want. This was my first time putting green peppers on top (What was I waiting for?!).

dip2

Now that I’m back to doing weight watchers I thought I would add things up and find out just how many points it would be. Of course, your points will add up when you start dipping your chips into it, but there are some great options to choose from. Baked Tostitos Scoops are a great low point option.

Dip1

4+ Points per 1/2 cup serving*

Another great option is Rice Cakes – I put about 1/4 cup of my leftover dip on top of some plain rice cakes for a yummy 6+ points lunch!

dip3

1/4cup of dip on each plain rice cake for a total of 6+ points*

I’ve actually been thinking of other ways I can use this dip, just so I can make it more often. I think that rather than topping with veggies, I can simply use it as a veggie dip. Or wrap it up in some rice paper with some lettuce and tomato. So many options, so many ways to enjoy something I love so much! Make sure you try it, I really think you’ll love it as much as I do. I do have to say too that normally I am not a cottage cheese fan at all, but it works, believe me!

That Mom’s Low Fat Nacho Dip (aka, the BEST nacho dip ever.)

Makes 8, 1/2cup servings*

  • 2 cups low fat Cottage Cheese (1 container)
  • 1 small brick of low fat Cream Cheese, softened
  • 2 cups Salsa (mild, medium, hot – whatever you prefer!)

Once you’ve softened your cream cheese, stir in cottage cheese and salsa until all ingredients are well mixed. Store in a covered container in the fridge over night. Before serving top with as many veggies as you desire! Normally I will top with shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes and green onions. Enjoy!

*All serving sizes and point values are calculated before adding veggies on.

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

One thought on “Feed me Friday ~ The BEST Nacho Dip.

Leave a comment