That Mom Blog

5 years ago today I lost a very special person – My Grandfather.

2 Comments

I can’t believe it’s already been 5 years since I’ve lost my Grandpa. Someone who held more than a special place in my heart. A man that I hope would be proud of me today.

I’ve been waiting to write this post since I started getting serious about blogging and I can’t think of a better time to do it than today. While it may seem sad to write about my Grandpa’s passing, I think it shows just how strong of a connection we had. 

The last time I saw my Grandfather was on my wedding day. He was miraculously released from the Hospital just in time to be there. Something that I wasn’t sure would happen. He showed up with a smile on his face, a bigger than I had seen in a very long time.

184_8730738542_3818_n

Grandpa and Grandma at my wedding.

Having him make it to my wedding meant the world to me. I even made a point to stop on my way down the isle to kiss him. An act that I was told meant more to him than I could have even imagined.

198_24606892680_5775_n

Grandpa didn’t make it through the night long enough to stay for dinner, or have a dance together. He wasn’t feeling well and I knew it. When he left I tried my best to hold in the tears. I told those around me that it was the last time I would ever see him, I knew it with every ounce of my heart.

198_23166432680_7598_n

5 years ago today I was on my honeymoon in St. Lucia getting a facial while my husband was getting a massage. While we lay there in the quiet, I suddenly heard this soft lullaby rendition of ‘It’s A Small World’ being played – a song with a lot of meaning. One we used to tease him with as kids, singing over, and over until he just couldn’t take it anymore.

When we were done I turned to my husband and asked if he had heard it too. He didn’t and I knew instantly, my Grandfather had just passed away.

Throughout the rest of our stay he tried reassuring me that I was wrong. The moment we landed, I was unable to get a hold of my parents on the phone. My sister acted distant. I knew. There was no doubt in my mind. Our friends drove us home and I told them what I believed had happened. We got home late, walked through the front door and found my parents sitting in my living room. I was right. He was gone. I was able to tell my Mom the day it happened before she had the chance. 

As it turns out, Grandpa wasn’t miraculously released from the Hospital for my wedding- he released himself. He left because he had to make it to my wedding, for him and for me. It was the last thing he had to do. When he left that night he refused to go back into the hospital until he knew I was on the plane. And that was him, more stubborn than stubborn. Always thinking of others.

Grandpa, you are missed more than you know.

And seriously, how handsome was he??

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

2 thoughts on “5 years ago today I lost a very special person – My Grandfather.

  1. Thank you Karen…he was such an amazing man who loved his family and always put them first….I miss him so very much.

Leave a Reply

