That Mom Blog

Feed me Friday ~ Homemade Roasted Tomato & Red Pepper Crock-pot Pasta Sauce

3 Comments

Pasta was a big staple in my house growing up, and being half Italian we didn’t get our sauce out of a can. I still have very clear memories of my Father laying out hundreds of tomatoes on the benches in our garage, getting them ready to be made into a sauce that would surely make it onto our plates once a week. One food I could never get sick of.

Of course, now that I’m all grown up and my parents spend half their time in FL, spaghetti dinners at their house are few and far between. While we’ve gone down the road of purchasing canned sauces, nothing compares to homemade. Not only does it taste a lot better, but it’s also much healthier too. I thought I would share my favorite recipe, easily made in your crock-pot!

sauceHomemade Crock-Pot Roasted Tomato & Red Pepper Pasta Sauce

Makes 12 1/2 cup servings. 1+ points per serving for weight watchers!

  • 4 medium tomatoes
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cans of tomato paste
  • 1/2 sweet red pepper
  • Fresh Oregano
  • Fresh Parsley
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1tbsp olive oil
  • Salt & Pepper

Start by putting your can of diced tomatoes into your crock-pot. Cut the tomatoes into quarters, slice your red pepper and peel your garlic cloves (leave whole) and place them in a small roasting pan. Add in your Oregano, Parsley and any other fresh herbs you would like to add in. Drizzle olive oil on top and roast at 375° for 1 hour.

IMG_3712-001

Add the entire contents to your crock-pot and cook on low for approx 6 hours (can be more, can be less, I always just set it in the morning before I head out for the day).

About 1 hour before dinner, add in your two cans of tomato paste. Half hour before dinner use a hand blender to puree  everything. Serve over pasta, Quinoa or Spaghetti squash!

IMG_3725-001

Enjoy!!

P.s. I would love for you to share my recipe on Pinterest 😉

signature

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

3 thoughts on “Feed me Friday ~ Homemade Roasted Tomato & Red Pepper Crock-pot Pasta Sauce

  1. I am so going to make this sounds so delicious thanks Karen

    Date: Fri, 8 Feb 2013 14:06:20 +0000 To: celticblue13@hotmail.com

  2. We love pasta here, but aren’t big on the wheat. Jonathon found a spiral slicer at The Keeping Room in Dundas that we use to turn pretty much any vegetable into spaghetti. This would be AMAZING on that and I am totally making it next week when my MIL is here!

Leave a Reply

