That Mom Blog

Week 53 – One year and 60 – SIXTY! – pounds down.

19 Comments

I can’t begin to say how nervous I was to step on the scale today. I know I say that a lot, but today I was extra afraid. The holidays were not nice to me. I kept my goal of no excuses way at the back of my head when presented with all the yummy foods, drinks and desserts over the past week or so. And weight gain or not, I had no regrets, it was all DE-LIC-IOUS. Over the last few days though I’ve been extremely diligent with what I’ve been eating, and also really focusing on my water intake. Well, it all paid off. This year paid off. I am so excited to officially say on my big ONE YEAR POST I’ve lost 6olbs.

60 POUNDS!!!!!
SIXTY FREAKING POUNDS!!!!!!!!!!!

So this. This picture is my before and after picture that I’m FINALLY posting. This shows what one year can do. The first picture was taken New Years Eve, so exactly one year today. The second, Christmas day. Holy Crap.

GOAL!

It’s funny because when most of my friends see the first picture, they don’t remember me looking like that. I’ve a hard time remembering me looking like that. But I did. And I have more than this picture to prove it. When I first started my weight loss journey I took some pictures in just my workout pants and a sports bra. Frightening. I also made it a goal to someday post those pictures. A few months back I posted some of those goals. 60lbs meant I could finally eat Poutine (guess what I’m having for dinner tonight?!?!). 70lbs meant I would finally reveal my weight, and show those pictures. I am 10lbs away from that.

So now I guess it’s time for those New Years resolutions. Something I swore I would never do years ago. But for how well they went last year, how can I say no to them this year? So here goes:

1. Loose another40lbs – Loosing another 40lbs will bring me to my final goal, 100lbs lost. I’m giving myself the entire year to reach this. With this goal means sticking with my healthier lifestyle, something I never want to fall away from. Ever.

2. Learn to run 5k – Yes, I’ve already done a 5k race, and I’ve signed up for another 2 this year. But this goal means I want to RUN 5k. Not half run half walk – RUN. That feeling when I was first able to run 5 minutes straight was incredible. 5k will kick that feeling in the ass.

3. Be more organized – Okay, so is it laughable that I think this might be the hardest goal to reach? Let’s face it, I am overloaded and overworked and a little crazy. I really need to focus on finding a balance between all of my jobs, this blog, and my family life (does balance even exist?). Along with that I need to make sure I am being good to ME. One big thing I would like to stay organized, for the sanity of all involved, is my ‘office’, because good god right now it looks like a bomb of plaster and paper went off.

I think that’s a good place to start. Mainly I want to continue on the path to making life awesome. I’m so excited for 2013. I’ve got some really exciting things planned. For now though, I’m going to get some cuddles in with my sick children and wait patiently for my celebratory poutine dinner.

See you all in 2013!!!! xo

signature

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

19 thoughts on “Week 53 – One year and 60 – SIXTY! – pounds down.

  1. Great progress! Have a look at the couch to 5k programme by coolrunning, that will get you to being able to run 5k. Great sleeve too!

  2. Congratulations 🙂 You are such an inspiration for me. I’m currently about the size you were before dropping 60 lbs. I’ve struggled with my weight my entire life and you make getting healthy seem simple and approachable. Sometimes when I think about losing weight, I’ll feel overwhelmed at the journey ahead. Reading your blog reminds me that it can be done with smart decisions daily and staying positive!

    • I’m glad I can help inspire you! It is very overwhelming, and I was afraid of doing it for a very long time. I’ve done this all without stepping into a gym too. Just healthy choices, and a lifestyle change. While I no longer do Weight Watchers, I really did love that it taught me what foods were good to focus on, and what foods I was eating that I had no idea were so bad. If I can do it, you can too, you just need to be ready 🙂

  3. Karen, You look Amazing! WELL DONE! You are an inspiration to me, and I must try and follow in your footsteps.
    Happy New Year!

  4. Is it weird that I’m on the verge of tears for you? 😀 You are such an amazing woman. You inspire me SO much. Here’s to another amazing year, for both of us!!! I hope to lose around 75lbs this year. Time to DO THIS once and for all!

  5. Wowser you look amazing!! Well done – it must have taken true grit and determination to do it, very inspirational. Have a wonderful New Year’s Eve and good luck with kicking that next 40lbs X

    • Thank you Dawn! It sure does take a lot, but I believe that not putting TOO much pressure on yourself helps a lot to. Set reasonable goals, but don’t get down on yourself for a slip up here and there. I hope you have a wonderful New Year as well!

  6. A big huge congratulations!! Losing weight is one of the hardest things to do. You look fantastic (you are beautiful in both those pics, regardless of what size you are) and I bet you feel amazing. I went through a 60+ pound weigh loss a few years ago. Its an awesome feeling, finally reaching a goal you’ve worked so hard for. All the best in 2013!

  7. So inspiring!! Not only have you come so far, but you’ve done it with an audiance. A very brave thing to do! I remember coming across your blog early in 2012 and you certainly motivated me to lose 35lbs of baby weight this year. I’ve got another 30lbs of weight to get to my goal and I will keep reading because I know watching you will help get me there. Congratulations and thank you! All the best in 2013!!

  8. You should be so very proud of yourself! You look fantastics — healthy and happy! Congrats on all your hard work 🙂 Happy New Year!

  9. Rawwrrr!!! You are a fierce force to reckon with and I can’t wait to see what 2013 brings for all of us!! I want to be running a 5k in March of 2014. The first time I did it I walked the whole time. Next year I WILL run it.
    Go cuddle those babies. ❤

  10. Amazing and inspiring. I know how hard it must have been for you to post those pics and your story. Your goals are so specific and clear I know you will blow past your expectations. Especially the 40 lbs. this year.

    Go, go, go! I can’t wait until you start posting your 5k goal finishing times.

  11. Pingback: Week 54 – First post of 2013! Continuing on the journey to find #MyBetter « That Mom Blog

Leave a Reply

