That Mom Blog

Week 49 – No Excuse December

15 Comments

Well hello December,

I half expected to greet you with disappointment. November had a rough start, and I wasn’t sure I could bounce back. Listening to my body I was sure that I had taken a few steps back in my weight loss. But instead of letting it get me down, I kicked it up a notch and spent the last two weeks getting back on track with healthier eating. I have readers I didn’t want to disappoint. I didn’t want to disappoint myself. And guess what? I didn’t. I shocked myself when I stepped on the scale this morning and saw that I lost SIX POUNDS over the last month. I WIN!

p.s. There are no excuses this month December, none. So don’t even try.

I don’t think I could have started off this week better. If you follow me on Facebook, you may have seen my post last night, stating how nervous I was to step on the scale this morning. I was sure that I had gained. I didn’t think the ‘not stepping on the scale for a month’ was working for me. I worried that it was allowing me to get off track, and not being able to see where I needed to be improving. I was wrong. I have hit a 57lbs loss. Fifty. Seven. Pounds. What a great feeling!

So here’s the thing, December can suck for weight loss. So much temptation, and so many excuses because of said temptation. Not only is it hard for weight loss, but it’s harder to get outside because it’s cold. And if there is one thing I hate, it’s the cold. I don’t go to a gym, most of my fitness happens in the house, and out there. In the cold. Walking, jogging, stairs and bike rides. Other than one jog in Florida, I haven’t done any of those things in a month. Tonight, that stops. This month there will be no excuses.

I’ve just invested in my first real winter jacket in years.  I’m even thinking about going to get some real winter boots with treads – I can’t even remember the last time I had a pair. Those hikes I love to do in the summer? I am going to learn to love them in the winter. I am also going to focus on eating right – no need to fall into the trap of the normal holiday pigging out.

I hope that I can inspire you this December to make goals, and stick with them. We don’t need to wait until January to set the goals, we can start NOW.

Speaking of inspiration, I am SO excited to announce a great giveaway, thank you to Sport Chek. As you know I have been a part of their #MyBetterMVP program for a couple of months now. They have been helping me stay motivated with their support, and now they want to celebrate you, the reader. They’ve sent me a $100 gift card to give someone who has been inspired by me to find their better. I hope I have done that for a lot of you!

SportChek

So here is how it’s going to work:

Step 1 ~  In a comment below I want you to tell me how I’ve inspired you over this past year. Have I inspired you to change your eating habits? Start getting in shape? I don’t know if anyone knows how much I appreciate hearing that I can help make a difference for someone else. It provides ME with inspiration and motivation too.

Step 2 ~ Over the next week I want you to sit down and think about what steps you can take this month to help stay fit and healthy. Will you take the no excuse vow? You will tell me your goals and your weeks accomplishments in next week’s post.

Step 3 ~ I want to know what you would use your $100 Sport Chek gift card for. A new pair of running shoes? A winter running outfit? Hopefully something that is going to help you continue your journey to find your better. You will also tell me this in next weeks post.

On top of these, I would love it if you would also follow me on Facebook if you don’t already. I have a goal of really being  active on the page to stay more connected. And if your on twitter, follow me there as well (@ThatMomTweets)! If you are going to follow along with No Excuse December use the hashtag #NoExcuseDec.

There are so many people out there that motivate and inspire me. Other bloggers, friends, and certain people who may not even realize they do. I hope that I can continue to inspire you!

signature

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

15 thoughts on “Week 49 – No Excuse December

  1. Hi Karen,

    Following you on facebook and on your blog has definitely inspired me this year.

    I have used the fact that I am a full-time working mum of two young girls as an excuse for not being able to exercise regularly for a long time. Following your journey, and seeing what you have accomplished this year with your very busy lifestlye, has shown me that I can (and must) fit regular exercise into my daily life. You are a real person, and you are honest about your bumps along the road, which makes you all the more inspiring!

    Although I do not have a weight loss goal, I do have a fitness goal. I started running in September. I have never been a good runner, but I thought I would give it one last try. I worked my way up slowly, and actually started to enjoy myself, even started looking forward to my runs! I was able to complete my first 10K at the beginning of November, and wanted to do more…and then I’m not sure what happened…I completely fell off the wagon in November. I, like you, am afraid of the cold. As much as I would love to be one of those die hard winter runners, I just don’t know if I can do it. But…after reading this post, I’m definitely going to try. No excuses December, January, February, March….I can do it!!!

    Thanks for kicking me in the butt this morning. I’m off to think of my goals, and all the things I can buy at Sport Chek if I win this contest! :)…and since it’s such a beautiful day, I think I will take the dog and my youngest daughter out for a run after her nap!

    Good luck with your December goals!

    Jillian

  2. Congrats on the weight loss! I still say you ditch the scale and come to pole with me 😉 I think you and your blog have helped me to keep going. Knowing someone else is on the same journey and having ups and downs as well keeps me motivated. I’ve lost no where near 57 pounds though 😦

  3. I think , you’ve inspired me to keep going. I also have went a little off the wagon and your blog has sort of given me a good shake and kick in the butt to get back out there.
    I know the goal I need to complete is signing up for another half in the spring so I feel forced to train through the winter. I thought I’d just enjoy running for a while but the truth is without a big deadline on the horizon I loose motivation.
    I’d use a hundred to buy new shoes.
    I’m a slacker and am still wearing the same shoes from the Around the bay race last march. I keep thinking….when I start training I will buy new shoes.
    I need to bite the bullet and buy the darn shoes….or each will just be an excuse for the other.
    All in all I enjoy reading your blog, I know running makes me feel like a superstar everytime I actually do it. I know everyone feels like that after they complete a goal, or achieve something they never thought they could.
    I admire your proclamation of how much weight you’ve lost, that’s bold, I don’t know if I’d be so brave!

    xo
    jenn

  4. Pick me Karen! 🙂 After seeing your great biking pictures all summer, you inspired me to buy one for myself and get moving! http://www.teaforthree.ca/2012/07/02/my-bright-yellow-bike/

  5. Pick me, Karen! After seeing all your great biking pictures this summer, you inspired me to buy one for myself and get moving! 🙂 http://www.teaforthree.ca/2012/07/02/my-bright-yellow-bike/

  6. I’m so happy for you Karen!! You have been such a motivation to me this past year as we work together to get healthier. Wow ya it’s almost been a year! It’s been great to hear your words of encouragement and sharing your struggles. I know that you will hit any goal you set for yourself and that only helps me push harder to keep going towards mine.

    Thanks Karen!

    ❤ Tammy

  7. {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{Karen}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}} You have definitely inspired me!! and yeah, exercise, the BIG necessity along with eating right, is the challenge for me. I’ve discovered that dancing, which I love, is the ticket – and since it’s indoors winter doesn’t impact so much (just getting through the snow to get there).

    You inspired me to also join Weight Watchers and I reached my goal weight in October. Now maintenance is a new learning curve – you do get to ‘eat a bit more’ but figuring out how much that is is a real challenge – especially coming into December. Will be using my “buddy” system even more (buddy system=DH orders dessert, I get one bite and he eats the rest—fast! LOL)

    Steady on my friend and Bless you for inspiring so many!

    Zandra

  8. Reading your blog updates has definitely been a kick in the pants for me. For awhile I thought I could lose and then maintain on my own, but I’ve since realized that it’s soooo much easier to do things with support and encouragement. Using the My Fitness Pal app has been really helpful, and setting those milestone goals (like your new dress, or, for me, a new piece of hockey equipment!) is really motivational. Thanks for being inspiring and motivational without being preachy.

  9. You my dear friend, have made me realize that it’s possible to lose weight, keep it off, and encouraged me by posting constantly! Without your motivation I would have never made the changes I needed to make, I would have never ran my first 5k or fit into clothes I actually like! Thanks!

  10. Hi Karen,

    I have watched you blossom personally and professionally over the past 3.5 years and now I’m happy to see you blossom physically! Your journey has been an inspiration to me to make positive changes in my life to become the best “me” I can be! I read all your blog posts and comment on almost all of them because I want to be supportive (as good friends should be) and also to let you know that your written words are important to me.

    Watching your journey of weight loss has inspired me to join Jenny Craig and I’m happy to say that I lost 2.2 lbs at my weigh-in yesterday! I am motivated to continue losing weight so I can really be an active participant in my kids’ lives. I want to be the energetic mom at play dates and I want to set a good example for my two daughters when it comes to weight and self-esteem. I intend on joining the Runner’s Den when the baby is on a more regular schedule (we’re getting there!) and I would use my $100 Sport Chek gift card towards a pair of those fancy “toe sneakers” that you use! I don’t want to suffer from plantar fasciitis like I did when I was running in 2005 as it’s pretty debilitating. I would like to run in a 5K in the fall, so will train for that. I will also be signing up to take a Zumba class at Blossom Yoga, beginning in the new year, as I heard it’s a good way to have fun while burning calories. And I can’t wait to do the CN Tower Edge Walk in the spring! I LOVE heights! 🙂

    I watched you set a goal for yourself – that pretty dress that you told yourself you would get if you got to your goal weight resonated with me. I have told myself that when I lose 50 lbs, I will go on a $1000 shopping spree, with my first stop (and perhaps only stop) being Lululemon. I have never purchased anything from there and I really want to have the physique to pull off those workout clothes. My first weigh-in at JC was 192.4 lbs… losing 50 lbs would take me to around 140 lbs – pretty doable considering my height. My actual goal weight is 135 lbs and I’m giving myself until next September to hit it – I want to be 135 lbs for my birthday! I will share my progress with my friends on Facebook to keep myself motivated and honest.

    I have no excuses to fall back on when it comes to losing weight. I have had my baby, I’m all healed up, I’m off on maternity leave for a year. I can find the time to exercise during the week (might have to be in the evenings as the baby is a good napper and I’m not about to ruin that!) and on weekends. I can certainly control what I put in my mouth and how much. It’s about progress, not perfection. I am going to be kind to myself on this journey and I’m going to make sure that the little critical voice inside my head is friendlier when I look in the mirror. Keeping a positive attitude is the way to achieve one’s goals, and I have to say that I’m encouraged by your positivity and initiative. Keep up the good work, Karen, and continue posting your truly inspiring words. Choose me!!

    Alysha

  11. Hi Karen 🙂 Well you and Tammy are the two that inspired me to start my weighloss and health journey this year and I thank you both for that….. I am finally healthier than I have been in my entire adult life!! I can jog and I have energy like never before. You have inspired me to be a healthier happier me! 🙂 I can keep up with the kids at the park…. well somewhat they still are kids lol. I have a ways to go and I haven’t been spectacular recently but I am glad to have a great group of girls like we have to continue to help us get back up when we struggle some weeks :)…. and what would I do with the money… well my saucauny shoes are starting to get little hole in them on the mesh top… I could totally use a new pair but have been holding off buying them with the money this time of year going towards the holidays.

  12. Karen,

    I remember when you first sat in my chair, I was so nervous. I couldn’t even tell you why now. You have inspired me to take myself and my business (which I never called it that until I met you) more seriously. You have inspired me to toughen up and ask for what my work is worth. You have encouraged me to be a healthier me, not only for my kids and family but for myself. I could go on and on with all the things you have done and said to inspire me but this would go on forever. I do have to say most importantly you have inspired me to find my confidence that I had misplaced somewhere between pregnancy, kids and marriage. Now that I have found that again I feel as though I can conquer anything. Thank-you.

    Now if I had a gift card for sportchek I would buy myself some running shoes as I haven’t bought new ones since before I had kids!!!!!

    Thanks for being you!

    Robynn

  13. Pingback: Week 50. FIFTY! « That Mom Blog

  14. You have inspired me to stick with my plan to drop 30lbs by my 30th birthday! I am mindful each day of the food and activity Choices and how they affect my end goals. Your weight loss has been incredible- but even more incredible is your willingness to share with the rest of us on this same weight loss journey so that we can support each other and have another person there who goes through the same ups and downs and knows that there’s a better tomorrow ahead!

    Wishing everyone continued weight loss and improved health and happiness as we look to the new year ahead 🙂

  15. I’ve been inspired to not give up despite set backs!

    I’d use the gift card for new running shoes 🙂

Leave a Reply

