That Mom Blog

2013 Ford Escape Titanium Review

5 Comments

If you’ve been keeping up with my blog, you know that we had the opportunity to get behind the wheel of a new 2013 Ford Escape Titanium for our Florida (#FloridaFunshine) family road trip. I am so excited to finally be able to sit down and share our experience with you. Let’s just say, it was one impressive drive!

First off, I love the new design. Before I didn’t really have the desire to drive on Escape, I didn’t find the old look appealing. When I was first invited out to check out the newest model I was expecting the same, but boy was I wrong. And while I already knew how the Escape handled from our Escape for the Day event with Ford, I didn’t know how it would work as a family vehicle – a family vehicle on a 21 hour road trip. Let me tell you, it didn’t disappoint.

Comfortable and Roomy

The size of the Escape was perfect for our family. The trunk was big enough to fit everything we needed – 2 over-sized suitcases, our extra bags, backpacks, children’s duffle bag, a stroller and MORE. And if we wanted to pack even more than we did, we had the option of putting a roof bag on top using the crossbars. I found myself very comfortable in the Drivers seat, and while the passenger seat didn’t have quite as much room as the Expolrer did, it was still comfortable enough to sit in for the long drive. There had been points during our trip where we pushed the two children together and had an adult in the back with them – the leg room was more than I thought it would be, and without car seats it would actually be quite comfortable for adults too.

I liked that I felt a little closer to my kids than I do in my current Mini-van. It was much easier to reach back and grab their hand if they needed a bit of comfort, or pass them snacks when they were hungry.

Drive and Fuel Economy 

The Escape is an exceptionally smooth drive – and quiet! . It also had more power than we were used to, it was amazing how fast it would get up to speed helping us merge onto busy highways with ease. The curve control made driving through the mountains with all their twists and turns a breeze.

Along with power, the EcoBoost engine brings great gas mileage. We drove almost 1,900kms on our trip, and didn’t pay anywhere near as much in gas that we would have in either vehicle we have now.

As an extra bonus, there is even a feature to show you if your driving is getting you the most out of your fuel. I am proud to say that I was a Ford EcoMode Advanced Driver!

Features, Features, Features

The Escape Titanium came packed full of great features. Some that I already know and love like the Blind Spot Indicator on the side mirrors, the back up camera and the Ford MyTouch. I loved how accessible everything was on the steering wheel. Easily being able to set, cancel and resume with a simple push of the paddle for the cruise control was perfect.

 I loved that with a tap on the right side paddle I could bring up the voice commands and simply change the channels on the Sirius Satellite Radio (something I could get used to!). Between my husband and I wanting to listen to some good old 80’s and 90’s tunes, and the 4 year old constantly asking for the Disney Station, there was a lot of changing going on. We also loved how easy it was to plug in a device and play your music through the USB and Ford Sync option.

The Dual Climate Control was a huge plus for me. I am always so cold, and my husband hot. There have been many battles in the past as for who gets to choose the temperature – this helped us both get our way. I also took full advantage of the heated seats, something that is a must in my next vehicle.

And then there was the Panoramic sunroof. I love how much natural light it brought in during our trip, something that was really needed as we drove unwillingly back into the colder climates. I truly believe that a little sun can help brighten a bad mood any day.

And now for my favorite feature of all – the Hands-Free Liftgate. Best. Idea. EVER. I can’t even tell you how many times this came in handy. As long as the keys are on you (In your pocket or purse let’s say), and your right behind the vehicle  all you need to do to open the Liftgate is give a swift little kick under the back bumper. Easy as Pie (Mmmmmm pie….).

Here is a little video we took with me using it after a shopping trip:

These are just some of the features that we loved. Another was the Active Park Assist which I only got to use once. Sadly where we were in Florida there seemed to be no where to parallel park (I don’t think I would have ever complained of a lack of parallel parking spots).

Because I always do my best to be honest  there was a couple of things that we didn’t love about the Escape. Sometimes the voice commands were a little tricky to use. This may be because I don’t know the proper things to say, but trying to choose a destination using this feature was a little tricky. And while I believe it is a great idea to have some items on the MyFord Touch not available when the driver is in motion to keep them focused on the road, it should take into account when the passenger is the one trying to use it. The one other thing that I would love to see changed is the seat belts in the back. They were very hard to access when we had the Booster seat in place. H was unable to do it himself, and we had to tilt his seat a little to be able to buckle him up.

All in all I loved the 2013 Ford Escape Titanium. I loved it enough to say that I strongly believe when it comes time for me to get a new vehicle  this is it. It was the perfect size for our family – not too big, and not too small. We loved the drive, the fuel economy, and all the great features listed above. I would highly recommend the Escape to any family looking for a great crossover. I can’t wait to get behind the wheel of one for keeps someday!

The vehicle was provided for review. No compensation was received. The honest opinions are my own and those of my family.

 

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

5 thoughts on “2013 Ford Escape Titanium Review

  1. Great post! We have been researching new vehicles, and I came across your post today. We have just called to get a test drive with a 2013 Escape – I think this might be the right vehicle for our growing family (1 + 1 on the way!)

  2. I can’t believe this says the vehicle has a smooth ride. I took delivery of my Titanium model a week ago and have been to the dealer twice complaining how the vehicle shakes; it goes over bumps but has a tremor driving down the road. The dealer says it is “assembled properly” but refuses to address if the assembly includes a defective part or even drive in the vehicle with me as compared to the 3 others i have had as loaners that don’t drive so rough. So far Ford is indsifferent; the only thing they do is call the dealer and restate what the dealer already said. Looks like arbitration is the next step just to get someone to listen to me and take a ride in the vehicle

  3. Pingback: What would you do witn $50,000??? #GoldenKitten « That Mom Blog

  4. Pingback: 21 Car Reviews: A Roundup of Mom Bloggers Testing Cars | Rich Single Momma

Leave a Reply

