That Mom Blog

One Conference, Two Conference, Three Conference… and done.

5 Comments

If you were to look at my calendar for October, you might try and suppress a giggle snort. Apparently I thought it was a good idea to jam in as much as humanly possible all leading up to my sisters wedding – which I am still not ready for… It’s been a month of inspiration, deflation, and then more inspiration. It’s been packed full of information both relevant to my blog and businesses. I have been forced to make myself think about the future of it all, where I want it to go, and what I want it to be. My to-do lists in my trusty new organizer are growing by the day as little tidbits of information come back to me while I review my notes. I am excited and overwhelmed at everything flying around inside my head right now.

Conference 1 : Your Business is Now

YBIN was probably one of the BEST conferences I have ever attended. Now this conference was more business orientated (hence the name) than the others. The first night started off with some speed networking, which was something I was a little afraid of at first. I do a lot of things, and getting that all out is sometimes hard. I am also a little shy, even though I hide it well. But I loved connecting with so many people! It was a great icebreaker and something I wouldn’t mind doing more of. The conference itself was inspiring. The speakers were incredible. I loved listening to Amber MacArthur, she had some great tips. And the Project Shaman, Phi was very inspirational. My favorite session was put on by Julie Cole (Mabels Labels) and Chris Farias (Kitestring) who talked about Personal versus Professional Branding. I think that working on my personal brand has been something that has been in the back of my head for a while, and I am so excited to really branch out. After the conference I made the promise to myself to be more in touch with my fans on more levels. It came at a great time with recently re-branding my blog, and there are some other exciting changes happening to the look of it soon to reflect me as a person better!

Conference 2 : She’s Connected

This was my second time attending She’s Connected. I really enjoyed myself last year, and made some really great connections. It was really great seeing all the awesome people at Ford again, and I loved seeing some of the other bloggers that I look up to and admire. As for the conference itself, I left feeling a little deflated. I am lucky to work with some really great brands, but I also feel like it is presented that if you do not work with brands, your not a validated blogger. I am wondering if maybe I was just in a mood that day, and couldn’t get into things. Either way, it was great to connect again.

Conference 2: Blissdom Canada

I had a BLAST at Blissdom. I loved that they had a ‘newbie’ get together in the morning for those of us who hadn’t been before. We got to sit and chat with other bloggers from all over Canada and break the ice. I got to meet so many great bloggers who I never had the chance to before. There were round table sessions in the morning, and I was able to sit in and learn about three things I really wanted to with a small group of people. I learned about how to be funny on my blog (I hope I am funny… I TRY to be funny…Am I funny??), I learned more about Pinterest, which I love, and also about taking better pictures with my iphone. After lunch with two people I adore, my good friend Tamara (Tea for Three), and Dana (Hot Pink Apron), we closed out the day with some speakers. Of course, what is a conference without a party, and what kind of party is my favorite? A Halloween party! We all got dressed up, and had a ton of fun dancing the night away. On Sunday Blissdom had set up a variety of excursions around Toronto, and I was one of the lucky 5 to get a spot doing the CN Tower Edge Walk. That deserves an entire post for itself, coming very soon. Something you don’t want to miss (hint – there is video!).

I got to play with a wide angle lens during one of the Blissdom round table sessions. I think I need on!

All in all I had a FANTASTIC couple of weeks. And I still have more to write about, but I think this post is getting a little long winded. For anyone who is new to reading my blog, maybe some of you from this weekend, welcome! And for those of you who didn’t go, do you try and get out to conferences?

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

5 thoughts on “One Conference, Two Conference, Three Conference… and done.

  1. Great review! Blissdom was your fav? What would you say was the differences between each of the conferences?

    • I think I got more out of Blissdom because of the round tables. It was something new for me. I think that She’s connected was more about the Brands, and working with the brands. Blissdom was more about the blog, and what I can do with it in other ways. There was a lot to choose from for both. I learned a lot at SCCTO last year, and am so happy for that. Maybe I chose the wrong sessions to sit in on this year, as I felt like I didn’t come away with anything new. I loved connecting with people at both though. It is so inspiring and exciting being around so many other bloggers 🙂

  2. Now that I’ve been to one conference, I’d like to go to more, but I’m a little scared they won’t measure up. I could have easily been one of the bloggers who was alone and had no one to hang out with. I feel so lucky that I wasn’t… but what if that does happen?!

    I passed you a few times at the Halloween party, and I’m sure I even muttered something to you in my inebriated state… something highly intelligent, I’m sure. Anyway, I’m glad we’ve connected, even if it wasn’t while we occupied the same space last weekend. 🙂

    • I remember running into you, and seeing you around! It can be so overwhelming sometimes with so many people. There were still some there that I KNEW were there, and that I had planned on connecting with, and I never seemed to run into them.
      Glad you had a great time!!! 🙂

  3. Pingback: May Or May Not « consumedbywanderlust

Leave a Reply

