That Mom Blog

There’s a Tab for that – Time to get organized.

2 Comments

You know what isn’t easy? Running 4 businesses and having a Blog. Would I trade it for a full time 9-5 job? Not a chance. But one thing that I’ve always struggled with is being organized. I’ve always had the best intentions when it came to keeping on top of everything, but all too often there would be something missed. A week later I’d be slapping myself on the forehead asking  ‘How on EARTH did I forget that?!’. It was all to clear that I just wasn’t organized enough. My day to day tasks would be stored in my head, on random pieces of paper, or notes on my phone. Sometimes I would even write myself reminder emails, but they too would get lost in the mix. It was a terrible system.

Last weekend while at the Your Business is Now conference in Hamilton (which was AMAZING by the way!), I ran into Julie of Suburban Moms Media, and she had this big binder sitting in front of her with all these tabs for the different things she needs to do. GENIUS!

I literally went out to staples the next day and picked up some of the Marta Steward stationary I had been eyeing for a while, but couldn’t figure out what on earth I would do with it – DUH! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had one of the binders in my hands, or a set of the stylish sticky tabs.

I ended up getting one of the smaller binders with two stacks of lined paper (I know I will be going through that fast), a pouch to keep business cards in, and some dry erase tabs. I broke the tabs up into a category for each business, my blog, and than one for ‘To Do’s’ so that I can make myself a list of daily tasks I should be getting done.  So far, this week has been one of the most organized, getting stuff done – ON TIME – weeks I’ve had in a long time. I don’t feel stressed out like I usually do. I’ve had to face the fact that even in a digital age, I am a hand written list kind of girl.

Putting together my little binder couldn’t have come at a better time, heading into a weekend full of information and networking. I’m attending both the She’s Connected Conference and Blissdom Canada. I like that if something is discussed that I think will be good to use for Love Bump Baby, I can automatically write a note under that section. If there is something that would pertain to running events, I can put it under the Baby Expo tab. This way, when a weekend so packed full of information is done, looking over my notes will be much easier than all scribbled together in one place.

So step one to getting more organized is complete. Step two is to keep it up. Don’t let it disappear into my purse, or collect dust on a book shelf. I need to be sure I am opening it up every day. More organized is sure to mean less stressed. Being less stressed equals a happier mom, wife, and business owner.

Thank you Julie for the inspiration!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

2 thoughts on “There’s a Tab for that – Time to get organized.

  1. Love this idea & I was thinking of doing the same this week to keep things on track. As a new Mom I find I loose track of things very easily & if I don’t write it down it’s literally like a fart in the wind. You’ve inspired me to do the same! Thanks!!

    • LOL I love it “it’s literally like a fart in the wind”. It’s SO true! I have had days where I think , if only I WROTE DOWN to take the clothes from the washer to the dryer, I would have saved myself rewashing them… again… and again… lol

      I hope that it helps!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

