That Mom Blog

Drowning – It can happen REALLY fast

4 Comments

First off, everyone is OK. But I wanted to grab attention with this title. Did I get yours? Good.

This past weekend we were invited to a friends backyard BBQ and party. If you can guess from the title of this post there was also a pool (A wonderfully warm pool). Just like any time we go swimming with our kids, we come prepared. Water wings, and a parent per kid. Its hard to be two places at once!

The day started off just great. Splashing, swimming and great company. A great group of people having fun. After a long swim in the pool, I left my 4 year old with my Husband and went inside to get dressed. As I was walking back out into the back yard I heard a scream “CALL AN AMBULANCE!!!!!”.

My heart dropped, and so did everything in my hands. I ran as fast as my feet would take me to the pool. I saw my husband grasping my 2yo, and two men bending down beside a very blue 3 year old girl. Instincts kicked in, and I dropped to my knees to start helping with getting her breathing again. Clearing her nose, watching her face while one of the the other (luckily also trained) men rolled her onto her side, and pumped up her legs. It was terrifying. What was clearly just seconds, felt like minutes. Finally her little chest started rising again, and the breaths were getting in. She was going to be okay. I stayed there with her and her mom until the paramedics came to check her out. Clearing her nose, asking her questions, getting her to cough, and finally to throw up a good chunk of the water she took in. I have never – ever – been so thankful to be thrown up on in my life. She was going to be okay.

All in all, the paramedic found her doing well. She didn’t need to be transferred. She was tired, and spent the rest of the day indoors cuddling with her dad watching cartoons. She was okay.

It only takes a second. Her mom had just taken off her flotation device and went to put it with their other things. There were people everywhere. Around the pool, and in the pool. Yet somehow, in the blink of an eye, she slipped in. No body saw it happen. It just takes one second. And had it taken just a few more seconds of no one noticing her… well, we don’t want to think about that. She is okay.

So if you take anything away from this story, anything at all, please let it be that you will never let your child out of your sight around water. Not even a second. Hold their hand, bring them with you. It doesn’t matter how many people are around, it only takes a second.

She is okay. 

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

4 thoughts on “Drowning – It can happen REALLY fast

  1. Update: The little girl continues to do well. She threw up more water in the middle of the night, but her dad was with her all night and was able to make sure she was on her side (secondary drowning is always a concern). The near-drowning was certainly an eye-opener for everyone at the party, and the homeowners are going to make sure there are added precautions for the next big event.

  2. Soooo glad she is ok and you and the other man were trained to handle the situation.

  3. Great post…and such an important message! So glad she’s ok.

  4. That must of been terrifying. It could of easily been a very tragic day.

Leave a Reply

