That Mom Blog

Toddlers and Tea

65 Comments

I’ve always enjoyed tea, but about a year ago we really discovered tea. Long gone are the days of store bought bagged tea, we are a loose leaf tea family now! And yes, you heard me right, I said Family. Both H (4 soon) and Q (almost 2) enjoy their tea too. We’ve always found that tea is a great substitute for drinking sugary juices.

One of our favourite places to go for tea is Teaopia. With so many different types of tea to choose from – Black tea, green tea, fruit blends etc – and the huge variety of flavours of tea to choose from, you could never get bored. They also always have special blends  for each  season. One of my favourites was their Fireside S’mores tea, something I was almost glad I couldn’t share with my kids because of the caffeine ;).

I’ve been meaning for ages to post about why I love giving my boys tea, because I don’t know that a lot of people would even think of it. I still remember one day when I offered it to a guest for their child, and they were a little taken aback. They had no idea that they could give them tea at their age. I am by no means an expert, so I thought for my post I would go straight to the source. I hopped on twitter and connected with Teaopia (@Teaopia) to see if I could ask them a couple of questions to share with my readers, and they were more than willing to answer!

What does Teaopia think the benefits are of kids drinking tea?

We couldn’t agree more with you that substituting sugary, caffeine filled drinks with tea is a GREAT way to keep your children healthy. It also gets children into the habit of becoming tea drinkers later in life, which has numerous potential health benefits. I always tell customers that its not always about the benefits you do see happening, but its also about all the things you are preventing from happening to your body.

In your kids tea set, how did you choose the tea, and why are they great teas for kids?

We decided to use all Rooibos based teas for our Kids Tea Pack because Rooibos is naturally caffeine free and high in antioxidants. It is also low in tannins, so it won’t block any iron absorption. We thought it was important use a base that had health benefits, as opposed to just being fruit based. Rooibos is not techinically a “tea” because it doesn’t come from the Camellia sinensis plant (the tea plant). Only true teas are White Tea, Green Tea, Oolong Tea and Black Tea. However, we believe it to be a great introductory herbal tea for children, and then once they are a bit older true teas can be introduced. In terms of the flavour profile, we chose teas that we thought would appeal to kids and kids at heart like us! There are no added sugars in these blends, only the natural sugars that would be found in the added fruit.

As mentioned above, yes, teaopia carries a Kids Tea Pack. Something we had been meaning to try. We’ve bought Rooibos teas before, and fruit blends, but thought that the teas in the set sounded pretty great, and they are! We bought it recently and have been enjoying trying the different flavours in the set.

There are four different flavours of tea in the set – Cherry, Apple Pear, Strawberry Kiwi and Tropical Fruit Punch. You can read more about what is in the teas here.

So far the favourites are the Apple Pear and the Cherry (which smells AMAZING). I will usually make myself a warm cup of tea in the morning, add some more leaves and make some iced tea for them for later in the day. I feel better that we can cut back on all of the sugary drinks by drinking something so much better for us, without compromising flavour.

Now for some great news, Teaopia is going to give one lucky reader their own Kids Pack to try! For your chance to win, follow these few simple steps:

1. Tell me in a comment below what flavour you think you or your kids would like the best.

2. (Optional) Like That Mom Blog on Facebook for an extra entry, and leave a separate comment below.

3. Share this post with your friends on Facebook, Twitter or Pin it on Pinterest (share buttons below). Again, leave a separate comment for extra entries!

Winner will be chosen by random on April 27th! Good luck, I know you will enjoy it as much as we are!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

65 thoughts on “Toddlers and Tea

  1. we would lvoe to try apple pear, sounds yummy

  2. Strawberry Kiwi! Also these would be great to introduce in schools by my teacher friends since I know they are struggling to teach nutrition and healthy eating. They could turn it into a fun activity and a chance to learn

  3. I think we would love the Strawberry Kiwi

  4. liked my mom blog on facebook

  5. Love your blogs. This tea looks like a great idea too. We are gonna give it a try.

  6. My kids would really love the cherry 🙂

  7. Shared on my Family Matters Page

  8. I think my kids would like the apple pear

  9. My boys LOVE the strawberry kiwi (as do I!), but have never tried the other three. Out of those, I imagine the tropical fruit tea would be a new fav. Those photos are amazing! I can almost SMELL the tea!

  10. I love giving my daughter tea; it’s warm and comforting and it’s nice to share a quiet moment with a 3-year old. We would like all the flavours, but I think Cherry would be our absolute favourite flavour from Teaopia.

  11. I’ve already “liked” you on Facebook and continue to enjoy reading your posts (I also really like the owls at the header)

  12. And I shared your post on my wall on FB. Thanks for posting this, Karen!

  13. Shared it on Pinterest too on my “Delicious Drinks” board.

  14. Sounds like I’d love the cherry…but I’m pretty sure Madison would be all about the apple pear. I currently don’t give M anything but water or milk – I’m very excited to try this!!

  15. And I liked your blog on facebook a while ago!! :o)

  16. Also shared on fb!

  17. We would all love the cherry tea! Yum!

  18. I think P would like the Apple Pear flavor!!

  19. I already like you on facebook!

  20. shared on FB on my Chronicles of P page

  21. shared on my personal FB

  22. blogging about tea and your giveaway as we speak

  23. So interesting! We would love to try apple pear- it sounds delicious.

  24. the strawberry and kiwi sounds srummy, my sons kinder have herbal tea for the children at every session it would be great to expand our flavour range.. just found your sight for the first time this mornining… just wanted to say thanks, it’s nice to see like minded people out there…

  25. i think A would love the cherry….she loves my other tea’s. We love teaopia but i’ve never thought of getting her any of her own tea! thanks for posting about this!

  26. liked your blog!

  27. and i shared this on facebook! again, great post karen!

  28. Strawberry Kiwi would definitely be a flavour my son would love!

  29. Shared the link on Facebook!

  30. LIked you on Facebook!

  31. Yummy, apple pear!

  32. I already like you on Facebook, so I’ll just post it!

  33. My kiddos love almost anything cherry, so I’m sure that would be a hit in our house!

  34. Shared on facebook 🙂

  35. I have been wanting to look into tea for the kids but I wasn’t sure about the caffine and such – this is SO great!
    I know they would love anything with a red/pink colour so strawberry/kiwi sounds perfect!

  36. We would love the apple pear! Thanks for the give away Karen!

  37. Shared your give away on my facebook page.

  38. I am a facebook fan of your blog.

  39. I think my kids would enjoy the apple pear tea as those are favourite fruits around here!

  40. I am a fan on FB 🙂

  41. I think the Wild Cherry would be a hit in our house.

  42. Already a fan on FB

  43. I think that my kids would like the apple pear best.

  44. I like That Mom Blog on Facebook.

  45. pinned on Pinterest

  46. shared on Facebook

  47. and tweeted, too

  48. It never even crossed my mind to give the wee man tea! I’m thinking cherry would be the favourite around here 🙂

  49. already a fb fan&shared on my fb! we would love to try any one actually, but strawberry kiwi sounds delish!

  50. Already a FB fan and shared on Twitter 🙂

  51. My kids would love the apple pear…cherry sounds good.

  52. Apple pear would be a huge hit. I gotta get some!

  53. liked on FB 🙂

  54. pinned to pinterest too !

  55. Pingback: Teaopia Kids Pack Winner! « That Mom Blog

Leave a Reply

