That Mom Blog

The first Dentist trip.

2 Comments

This week we took our boys for their very first dentist trip. I won’t lie, I was extremely nervous about it. I was almost certain that Q, who isn’t even 2 years old, had a cavity. I noticed a little hole in his tooth not too long ago, and also thought he had a pretty bad build-up on his front two teeth.

After discussing with some mothers on my moms group, I was actually shocked to find out that some parents were already flossing their kids teeth. Where have I been hiding? I had no idea I should be doing that? Hell, I had no idea HOW I would do that! H is pretty good at letting us brush his teeth, he always has been. We play fun little games. Counting his teeth, or telling him to make sure he opens up wide enough to let a parade of elephants in, then shut it fast! Don’t let them escape! We have a little fun with it. Q is our challenge. Brushing Q’s teeth is like a sport. It’s tiring, and a LOT of work. We used to tag team it sitting in the bathroom. Of of us holding him, pretty much in a headlock, while the other brushed. That soon got too difficult and I now have to lay him down, straddle him pinning his arms to his sides with my knees, and still try and force the brush in. It’s the only way, and its heartbreaking.

Our dentist visit actually went a lot better than I thought it would. H did amazing! He sat there playing with is iPod, wearing the cool shades they gave him, and did everything the dentist asked. Q of course was a little more of a hassle, but they had a great way of doing it. Him in my lap, leaning him backwards into the dentists lap. Perfect!

I was thrilled to hear that neither of my children had cavity’s. H was blessed with great teeth, and Q got the bad end of the stick. The hole is ‘pitting’ which can turn into a cavity if we are not careful. He also has soft teeth, and enamel (gets that from his autie). At least we got them in, and know that what we are doing is right (yes, even sitting on them and forcing the brushing). It made me feel better that the dentist said his daughter was the same way.

Did you have problems with your kids teeth when they were young? When did they start visiting the dentist?

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

2 thoughts on “The first Dentist trip.

  1. I just found your blog, but it was here where I thought I might get you to think of me first when it comes time for those teeth to fall out!

    I have two boys too, and we’re in Houston Texas.

  2. Awesome blog – love keeping up with your blog!

Leave a Reply

