That Mom Blog

Keep your dog on a leash, PLEASE.

2 Comments

I can’t even believe I am writing this today. I am still a huge bag of mixed emotions.  Sadness, worry, fear, and anger. Anger at a dog owner who should not have had his dog off a leash.

Last night I hit a dog….and hear come the tears again just typing this… First off, I can thankfully say that he was okay, and it doesn’t look like it was bad at all, but regardless, it was HORRIBLE.

I was driving my boys home from a friends house right around bedtime. We had just started going after a red light, so luckily I wasn’t moving too fast, when a beautiful white husky jolted excitedly out into the road right in front of my van. I slammed on my breaks and swerved to try and miss the dog. It was very lucky it was a 3 lane, one way street, and there were no cars around. After a frozen moment, I pulled over to the side street, took a breath, and ran out to find out what had happened. The owner was trying to track the dog down, who ran off. Finally the dog came running up (what a glorious sight!) to his owner, who gathered him up into his arms. I pet, and talked to the dog, asking it’s owner if he was all right, and he then replied “He seems okay, this is not the first time he has done this“. EXCUSE ME?!??!??! Are you telling me that your dog has run into the road in front of cars before? And he is still NOT ON A LEASH? What if there was another car in the road? What if it turned into a bigger accident and the health and safety of not only myself, but my children was at risk? WHY was your dog not on a leash??? 

After a few minutes of examining the dog, talking to him, petting him, and seeing for myself that he in fact looked okay, I finally turned a now cold eye to the owner stating that his dog should have been on the leash. He replied by saying “Well he isn’t the type of dog that normally does this.” That was his answer? Didn’t he just say that he has done this before? It was at this point that I broke down, and the tears started flowing. Not only for this poor dog, but for myself. The owner asked if I was okay, and all I could do at this point was walk away. I went back to my van, got into the drive seat, and continued to sob like a baby. Poor H sat in the back seat asking me what was wrong, and why I was crying. What was I supposed to say to my little 3 year old? By the time I got home I was still shaking. I am still so filled with worry that I could have done something to this poor dog. I am so filled with guilt, even though I know that I did all that I could. I felt guilty enough, and cried, when I hit a BIRD before, never mind a dog. 😦

I feel better getting it all out, so thank you readers for allowing me to go off track and vent about this horrible experience. If you are a dog owner, PLEASE keep your dog on a leash if you live or are by a busy road. You just never know!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

2 thoughts on “Keep your dog on a leash, PLEASE.

  1. I can imagine just how you feel. How awful for you. I’m glad everyone was ok. And yes, that owner should have been far more vigilant with his animal.

  2. I probably would’ve had the same reaction (crying), and maybe even show more hostility toward the owner. I can’t believe the dog has done this before and the owner seems okay with it. How dare he put others at risk… more than once!

    Fortunately you and the boys are okay.

Leave a Reply

