That Mom Blog

Weigh-in 9 2.2lbs down

3 Comments

I weighed in with a decent loss today! After two weeks of not moving much, 2.2lbs down was very encouraging. I am now less than 3lbs away from the half way point to my dress (or hopefully dresses!).

The last week has been a particularly rough week with trying to keep my food consumption under control. I’ve been great at keeping to my points (save Saturday night girls night, and WOW that was good!), but I have been finding myself seeking out food for comfort once again. Trying to sneak a cookie (at least a healthy one) here, or a handful of raisins there, trying to fill that ‘hole’. Stress is not my friend, and food was. Before weight watchers, I was the kind of person that would head to a drive through when stressed. No one would know. It was my own little secret. I remember just weeks before taking this step, I argued with my husband, and while heading out to wash the van I ordered TWO sour cream glazed donuts to shove into my face to make me feel better. That’s like 14 points!

My nemesis, the sour cream glazed donut.

My nemesis, the sour cream glazed donut.

I found that working out, particularly jogging was helping me fill that gap, releasing that stress, until my knee’s started acting up. This week I need to find an outlet that will work, and save me from a slip back to stress induced binge eating.

Do you have any tips or ideas?

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

3 thoughts on “Weigh-in 9 2.2lbs down

  1. I bought a wag jag for MOB Fitness two months ago. It was 19 bucks for two months unlimited Zumba, boot camp and body blast classes. I lost 12lbs in 5 weeks and many inches. Apparently it’s really easy to lose weight if you work out and eat less, I had no idea! Ha! Anyway- the regular rate is $30 a month for unlimited classes or $5 drop-in rate per class. My wag jag is up next week, and so I’m signing up for the $30, which is month-to-month. I really love Zumba- it’s made a huge difference in the way I look and feel. If you want to come out, it’s at Regina Mundi School at Mohawk and Upper Paradise. Bootcamps are mon, wed, fri and Zumba and body blast are tues and thu. I’ve also been swimming at Huntington Park twice a week and my fave FREE workout: going up and down the Kenilworth stairs…with Tommy in the mai tei, it’s brutal but rewarding 🙂

  2. You are doing SO well Karen! Amazing! Maybe try ‘barefoot’ running? I had a lot of problems with my knees and ankles when I was running wearing supportive running shoes, when I switched to Vibram Five Finger shoes the pain completely went away. It takes some practice to change your running style as well (which is really really hard to do in regular running shoes) but the reason jogging and running causes so many people pain is because your body is designed for running on the balls of your feet, not with a heel strike (which sends a shock wave up through all of your joints).
    Check out this TED talk: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvmBNvag-A4&feature=related

  3. I have “safe” snacks ready to go. If I really feel the urge to stuff my face 3 cups of popcorn is only 1 point. I’m a stress eater too, and while I’m trying really hard to lose the weight I know I’m not going to change my emotional habits over night.

Leave a Reply

