That Mom Blog

Visiting Ford at the 2012 Canadian International Auto Show

1 Comment

Last Thursday I was invited to check out what is up and coming with Ford Canada at the 2012 Canadian International Auto Show. I brought another Mommy Blogging friend along with me, Amber from Chronicles of P.

We spent the first part of the morning checking out all the vehicles on the floor, taking note which vehicles looked to be a good size for a growing Family. Being well aware of what it is like to have a rear-facing car seat in compact car, we found ourselves checking out the space in the back seats. Obviously without lugging around car seats to install, we could only get an idea of what looked to be a good fit or a knee cruncher (You know, those fun compact cars we had pre-kids?).

Of course we couldn’t leave without going to get up close and personal with one of (okay maybe THE BEST) vehicles I have ever driven, the Ford Explorer. I won’t lie, I have been dreaming about driving one again.

Don’t I look good ‘driving’ an Explorer? I think so!

Another vehicle we made sure to check out was the Ford Flex, a vehicle I hope to get in one day and learn more about. I have always loved the look of the Flex, and Ford’s newest model looks even better!

What we were really there for was to learn more about the 2013 Ford Fusion. It’s a mid-sized car that is not only roomy enough for a growing family, but extremely sleek and sexy (yes, I said sexy!). What mom wouldn’t want to drive something that looks this good?

I got to chat with Eric Trepanier, Marketing Plans Manager at Ford Canada, about what we can expect with the Fusion. For one, it is built to be safe. The body is built up with a high strength steel, making it very solid, enough to keep its integrity in a roll over, and it hosts 8 air bags. It is the only mid-sized sedan that offers 5 different power-trains: 3 gas, a hybrid, and a plug in hybrid! It is expected to be best in class for fuel economy, and hey, who doesn’t love that? Moms love to save money any way we can, right!?

Check it out – My hair matches his shirt!

Now how would the Fusion hold up as a Family vehicle? Pretty great, as I have been told! A mom friend of mine has a 2008 Fusion and finds it perfect for her family. It holds her 3 kids in the back and has a big trunk, leather interior and heated seats which she loves! Her kids think it is awesome that they can pick the colour of the interior accent lights (something I had WAY too much fun with in the Explorer), and they love being able to plug in their iPod to play their own playlist with Ford’s SYNC.

Amber has lots of room in the back seat!

I definitely hope to get behind the wheel of the Ford Fusion in the future to give a more in-depth review, but from everything I have seen, heard and read, it seems like a great car! If you’re in the market for a new car, head to your local Ford dealership and take one for a spin!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

One thought on “Visiting Ford at the 2012 Canadian International Auto Show

  1. Looks like a fun auto show. My favorite one is the new Fusion; the new grille looks really classy and elegant..

Leave a Reply

