That Mom Blog

Weigh-in 7 and Motivational Marbles

7 Comments

Week 7 and down another 0.2lbs. Not a lot, considering last week was a 4lb loss. BUT I am not going to let it get me down. I started doing strength training with weights last week, so hopefully the lack of loss is just due to my muscles getting bigger and stronger. Right? ūüėČ

I am heading into a week of temptation. Just today itself I am going to have to be very careful. We are heading out to a Valentines day playdate, and reading the posts of all the yummy¬†snacks¬†that the other¬†Mom’s¬†are bringing is making me feel 5lbs heavier already.¬†Tonight¬†I am off to a Social Media night in Toronto put on by our lovely My Smart Hands founder Laura, and meeting up with a friend and fellow My Smart Hands instructor for dinner at a very yummy¬†restaurant before hand. I think that if I am REALLY good at the playdate this morning, I will have to allow myself the¬†Avocado¬†grilled chicken burger that I am drooling over just thinking about.

A few weeks ago I stumbled upon a pin on Pinterest from the Hot Mess Princess blog. She had posted about Motivational Marbles for keeping track of weight-loss, and I thought it was a brilliant idea. I bought some different size marbles from Michaels, and am using some¬†Margarita¬†glasses that sadly never get used. For each pound lost, I will take a marble from the “Pounds to go” glass, and slam dunk it (okay, place it gently) into the “Pounds lost” glass. Cool right?

As I mentioned above, there were some different sized marbles in the pack that I bought. I am using the white ones for ever 5th pound (5, 15, 25), the big blue ones for every 10th pound (10, 20, 30) and the small blue ones for ever pound in between.

I am keeping my Motivational Marbles above my desk in my office/craft space so I see it on a daily basis. There are 100 marbles in total. I know that once the glasses are equal (as long as it’s by August 1st) that I have reached my DRESS goal!

What do you think about Motivational Marbles?

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

7 thoughts on “Weigh-in 7 and Motivational Marbles

  1. Love the owls on your banner!!
    The motivational marbles is such a great visual…and aside from having weight loss goals that include health and vitality, the dress is gorgeous!!!

  2. I love this idea. ūüôā I know before I was pregnant with Miles I was doing intense weight lifting and getting irritated because I wasn’t losing weight – and then I started measuring my hips, waist and arms and realized that I may not have been losing pounds but boy was I losing inches. Now I’m doing running in combination with body weight exercises and am (finally) losing both.

  3. I like the motivational marbles idea. Its like something is reminding you daily that some weight needs to be loss… Losing weight is one of the hardest decision one could make and one could do, but if something is motivating or reminding you to do it then maybe it wouldn’t be that hard at all.

  4. Love the Motivational Marbles idea! I just might adopt that one.

  5. Pingback: Weigh-in 8 Happy Family Day! « That Mom Blog

  6. well done on the weight loss. I have only been trying to loose weight for nearly three weeks. I might set up this idea (i’m a visual kinda girl). Keep on dancing!!

Leave a Reply

