That Mom Blog

3 2 1 Cake – My new best friend

10 Comments

One of my biggest challenges with being on Weight Watchers has been cutting down on my sweets. I.Love.Sweets! I really love cake, and cupcakes, and coffee cakes…. Needless to say when I came across a post about 3 2 1 cake, I knew I had to try it right away. It’s perfect for a cake craving – and only 3 points! Not only is it great for WW users, but it’s great for making small servings for the boys!

What you need :

  • One box of Angel Food Cake cake mix
  • One box of any other flavour cake mix (I used strawberry, depending on cake mix, it may change point value)
  • Water

That’s it!

 

What to do:

Mix both of your cake mix’s together, and find an airtight container, or zip-lock bag to store it in.

When the craving hits take 3 tbsp of the mix, 2 tbsp of water, and microwave for 1 minute. – 3 2 1!

 

So easy, and so yummy! Here I topped with a strawberry, and a tbsp of butter-cream icing for an extra point. You could also get a low fat whip cream, or add some fresh fruit.

I have seen a couple posts about 3 2 1 cake on other weight watchers blogs, but they were guessing at the points, or unsure if they calculated right. This is what I did.

  • I added up the nutritional value on each box of cake mix, than multiplied that by the serving (both boxes value was based on 1/12, so x12) and put that all into the recipe builder.
  • Once it was mixed, I measured it all out cup by cup, than by tbsp from the remaining. I totalled the full amount of tbsp (16/cup) and divided by 3 (for the tbsp/serving) totalling 33 servings
  • This ended up calculating the 3 points per serving.
  • Keep in mind that other cake mixes may change this!

I hope you can enjoy this as much as I am!!!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

10 thoughts on “3 2 1 Cake – My new best friend

  1. both hubby and son loved it 🙂

  2. Pingback: 3 2 1 Cake – The perfect gift « That Mom Blog

  3. When I calculated the points I did it by weight and used the exact same cake mixes you bought, 3 TB weighed 33 grams, based on the weight of the mixes together it was 28 servings, and came out to 4 pp per serving..?

    • Hi Stephanie,
      Is there any reason you did it by weight? Again, I just followed the nutritional value on the side of each box, and did the math and punched it into the weight watchers calculator. For the amount of servings, I actually measured it all out, cup by cup, then by the tbsp. Hope that helps!

  4. You can add diet 7up or diet Sprite to the Angel food cake mix and nothing else, Bake as directed and it has reduced points also

  5. Just made this for my hubby and kids for a snack and it was a big hit ! Thank you for the tip

  6. I love the way you packaged this. My friend gave me a small bag with 3 TB of white cake mix to try. I too love cake type snacks and this was a great treat. I used low fat cool whip on top. Thanks, Debbie.

  7. Can not wait to try!!

  8. Pingback: Microwave Cake!! - Frugal Family Fun

Leave a Reply

