That Mom Blog

The Great Colour Debate – Pink Lego?

5 Comments

This morning I read a post on my friends blog, Tea for Three, about this pink lego controversy. I loved what she had to say about it, but also have my own little blurb to add. I am not going to go into a full rant about my issue with it (or lack there of I suppose) but I thought I would put my two cents in.

So pink Lego – WHO CARES! Its PINK! Yay Pink! It is a beautiful colour, and are we really going to deny girls of a colour that they love just to make a statement? I understand that yes, maybe there is a lot of pink out there for girls, and things should be offered in more of a variety of colour, I can’t argue that. H loves to play with doll houses, and tea sets, and finding things in a gender neutral colour is difficult. But to make a stink about PINK lego while there is still the option of multi coloured lego is just silly in my eyes.

In one article I read today one person’s concern was that the new Lego girl characters, who wear pastel colors and enjoy things like party planning, getting makeovers and going to cafes, sends a bad message to young girls. Hmmm.. so letting your girl be girly is a bad thing? Tell me, as a woman (sorry any men who are reading, this may not pertain to you) do YOU like planning parties, getting makeovers and going to cafe with your friends? I sure do! I also know how to use a drill, fill up the oil in my van, and I plan on building a deck on my own this summer. To think that allowing little girls to play with pink lego would change the course of their lives is ridiculous.

I think that children should be able to make the choice of what colour, or even type, of toy they want to play with. I think Tamara made a great point in her blog about the fact that maybe seeing pink Lego would make people actually think of buying their girls Lego when they may not have.

All in all I think worrying about ‘gender specific’ toys in general is silly. Let your kids play with what they want to play with. Chances are, if I took H to the store, showed him both colours of Lego, he would pick the pink. I am more than okay with  that! I would not deny my boy to play with ‘girls toys’, why should you deprive your girls with playing with ‘girly colours’?

Just my two cents.

You might also find this interesting:

When you look up PINK on Wikipedia you fill find this :

An article in the trade publication Earnshaw’s Infants’ Department in June 1918 said: “The generally accepted rule is pink for the boys, and blue for the girls. The reason is that pink, being a more decided and stronger color, is more suitable for the boy, while blue, which is more delicate and dainty, is prettier for the girl.”[18] From then until the 1940s, pink was considered appropriate for boys because being related to red it was the more masculine and decided color, while blue was considered appropriate for girls because it was the more delicate and dainty color, or related to the Virgin Mary.[19][20][21] Since the 1940s, the societal norm was inverted; pink became considered appropriate for girls and blue appropriate for boys, a practice that has continued into the 21st century

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

5 thoughts on “The Great Colour Debate – Pink Lego?

  1. exactly! well said!
    i love the wiki article! i think i will post it on FB…

  2. I’m 40 so I remember when there was no specific gender to the majority of little kid toys. To me, these girl gendered Lego look really, really girl-ified and wrong. And, while there is nothing wrong with “girly” things like getting a make-over and hanging at a cafe with friends, these “girlish” things make up the totality of what’s available in the Lego Friends line. The pinkification of girldom keeps going in the Friends line and that’s deeply disturbing to me. The female minifigs are altered to appear more sexualized than the female minifigs in all the other Lego lines and I find THAT disturbing.

    I’ve commented on Tamara’s blog before that overwhelming pink and lavenderness did not exist in the 70s except in extreme cases and those girls who indulged in a fully girlified pink and lavender childhood were strange and different and perceived as not all that smart.

    I’m thankful I have boys, but even then, when they were little, it was hard to buy a sweater that didn’t have a bloody dumptruck on it! So, I get it on that side, too. But, it’s far harder to raise a girl is a lot of ways.

  3. I’m not sure I explained why I think it’s not a great thing.

    By showing girls a line of toys with very adult versions of females ( the minifigs have curvy figures and makeup) and only that, with activities and jobs like veterinarian, barista or beautician we are telling girls: this is what being a girl is about, this is what it looks like and if you deviate you are not part of the mainstream girl culture.

    In the 70s and 80s we told girls “you can be anything you want” but these toys don’t support that. These toys tell girls they should be concerned with fashion, make-up, self-indulgence and helping little cute fuzzy things. We aren’t promoting to girls, via toys like these, that they can be the architects for the future. And that’s what’s disturbing to a lot of feminists: we are shrinking their options by training them to be less than they could possibly be.

    🙂

  4. Pingback: The Problem with Pink « Irreverent Feminist

  5. Nothing wrong with being girly!! I have a 9 year old son and an 11 year old daughter, and they both absolutely love legos.. I bought my daughter 2 of the Lego Friends sets for her birthday in August and she liked them so much I went yesterday and purchase the rest of the collection for her.. I also bought spongebob legos, minecraft legos, and hobbit legos for both of my children… In the past, Lego has been all about the male approach and I think its past time they put a pink touch on things!! I hope to see more from the Lego Friends line. My kids love um’, and it makes me happy to see my kids playing together and doing something they both enjoy… And neither 1 of my kids are sitting in front of the tv nor do they have controllers glue to their hands.. I never let the opinions of others bother me, and im not going to start now.. I think the pink girly legos are a great idea, and to those that do not like them I simply say “don’t buy them”. There is no problem with pink, and no these toys do not tell girls they she be concerned with fashion or make up.. just like the GIJOE legos doesn’t tell boys to be obsessed with guns and hand grenades.. it’s simply a toy for little girls. A very popular toy, I had to go to 3 different stores to complete the set for my daughter!!

Leave a Reply

