That Mom Blog

Weigh-In Number Three

2 Comments

Week 3, and down another 2.4lbs, making it an official 12lbs total. Not too bad!! This week I have discovered Quinoa, and I think I am in love! I made 2 cups of uncooked Quinoa and got 3 meals out of it!

First I made these Quinoa bites, the recipe says that it is only 1 point per piece. I keep them in the fridge, and stick them in toaster oven for lunch. They are great dipped in a red pepper humus.

After I made these, I thought I would make a salad with half of the left overs. To two cups of Quinoa I added 1 cup of shredded carrots, half of a cucumber, 2 celery stalks, and 1tbsp of Balsamic Vinaigrette. It was great, and the kids ate it right up!

With the last bit, I fried it up and topped with the left over crushed tomatoes from our Petite lasagne’s, and the left over Bruchetta from our Bruchetta Chicken. It was great!

Quinoa seems like it is so versatile, and is better for you than rice or pasta. I think this is going to become a staple food in our house!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

2 thoughts on “Weigh-In Number Three

  1. I love Quinoa!! I do a cold quinoa salad with veggies (I use red, orange and yellow peppers and red onion) salt and pepper and fresh squeezed lime juice. It’s light, refreshing and delicious!

    Where did you find the recipes for the quinoa bites?

  2. Quinoa is awesome (and gluten free!). I like to make a cold salad with it and add dried cranberries, toasted almonds, green onion, and canned mandarin oranges (rinse all that syrup off them first!).

Leave a Reply

