That Mom Blog

Homemade Playdough Recipe

2 Comments

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, it’s been a LONG week being hermits, stuck inside the house with this sickness. After a rough start to our morning, I thought it would be good to start fresh with a special project for H and I after his nap.

Since Christmas, the boys have both discovered the joy of Playdough. I have no idea what was keeping me from introducing it before. After catching Q spooning some into his mouth yesterday (not sure if he ate it or not) I thought it would be good to make some homemade dough so at least I know everything in it is safe.

This recipe is very easy to make, and easy enough to have your children help. It is also SO soft!

What you need:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 2tsp cream of tartar
  • 1tbls vegetable oil
  • Food colouring

Just dump all the ingredients into a pot and give them a good stir. This is a great time to get your child to help. H loved stirring.

Place your pot on the stove at medium heat, and stir constantly until it forms into a ball.

Remove from heat, and your pot and let cool on some wax or parchment paper. Once cool, knead it until soft. This dough is great for using with all of your regular Playdough cut-outs and accessories unlike other doughs I have tried.

Have fun!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Playdough Recipe

  1. This looks like a great recipe and considering how much unhealthy gunk they put into kid’s toys these days, I’m sure it’s a ton more safe. Thanks for sharing!

  2. This is great!! I love making play-dough with my students, and usually they’re too runny or not soft enough…I’ll have to try this recipe now! 🙂

    Thanks so much for linking up to “20 Below Thursday”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

