That Mom Blog

12 Days #7 – mint chocolate coconut clusters

4 Comments

20111215-135757.jpg

These have got to be one of my favorite Christmas goodies ever. My Mom made them every Christmas (when she still baked of corse…. Now she leaves it for me!) and I would always make sure I got my fair share. They are extremely easy to make, and you don’t even have to bake them!

Ingredients
•2 cups of white Sugar
•1/2 cup of margarine
•1/2 cup milk
•1 1/2 cups of rolled oats
•1 1/2 cup of coconut
•1/3 cup cocoa
•1 tsp peppermint extract

Bring sugar, margarine and milk to a rolling boil. Remove from heat and mix in the remaining ingredients. By spoonfuls, drop onto wax paper to cool.
If you want to make them without the mint, just add vanilla extract instead of the peppermint.

I will be making both kinds this year, so I thought I would make a mint drizzle to put over the mint to tell the difference.

Ingredients
•1/3 cup icing sugar
•1 tbsp milk
•1/4 tsp peppermint extract
•green food colouring (optional)

Mix together, spoon into icing bag, snip the end and drizzle. You may need to add a little more milk if it’s too thick.

Enjoy!!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

4 thoughts on “12 Days #7 – mint chocolate coconut clusters

  1. I’m so making these!!

  2. My mom makes these too and she freezes all her Christmas cookies so we didn’t eat them all and these ones never really froze so we used to steal them from the freezer! Great Christmas memory!

  3. Pingback: 12 Days #8 – Christmas Cheer « That Mom Blog

  4. We made these! I used gluten free oats so I can have some too ;)Thanks for the recipe! They are yummy with almond extract too!

Leave a Reply

