That Mom Blog

12 Days #2 – DIY Christmas Photo Bulbs

17 Comments

I saw something similar to these bulbs on a blog, and thought they would make a great gift for my newly engaged sister. It’s their first Christmas together as an engaged couple, and what better than making some decorations with their engagement photos in them? It is such a great idea, with so many possibilities!

I purchased these large, clear, plastic ornaments at Michaels. Two round, and two more pancake shaped. I took some of my sisters engagement photos from her Facebook page, printed them, and cut them down. I grabbed some scrapbook paper,  and some different elements had around from recently making her bouquet.

For this bulb, I placed a picture onto some scrapbook paper, and added some bling. I dropped in some pink crystal like branches, and some sugar to replicate snow.

I then carefully rolled up the image, and slid it into the bulb.

After the photo was placed in, I just used some tweezers to get it to the right placement, and replaced the top.

I just love them!! I look forward to making more for our home! Endless Possibilities!

The full set:

 

Linking Up Here!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

17 thoughts on “12 Days #2 – DIY Christmas Photo Bulbs

  1. Cute idea! Very pretty.

  2. I love this! I was going to share it on Facebook but then didn’t want my close circle to see this idea. I’m definitely making some bulbs for them 🙂

  3. I love this idea!! Your sister is going to love these!!

  4. I love that they’re thoughtful, beautiful, and frugal. I am not crafty, but I HAVE to try to make these for my family.

  5. Very cute.
    tfs
    Marie

  6. Wanted to let you know that I recreated your idea with the kids school photos and put all their info on the back… I used cute ruler lined scrapbook paper on the back with their grade, teacher, school, year and had the kids write out their name. Love how it turned out and I am sure their grandparents are going to LOVE them for Christmas!! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  7. Pingback: Inspiration Wednesday: DIY Ornament Ideas « perpetuallydaydreaming

  8. Great idea! I’m making these with pictures of my daughter for family members this year! Using different patterned fabric ribbons stuffed inside bulb around the picture. Then tying the same ribbon onto top to hang on tree.

  9. I am in LOVE with this! I found it on Pinterest, and immediately ordered pics to recreate it. Thank you!

  10. So sweet. I have been mulling over a few ideas… Both my grand kids went to the beach for their first time this year. I got their parents to bring me a handful of sand and tiny seashells from where they played. Now I can put their pic of them ON the beach, with the very same sand and shells that they played on. Thank you for the great idea.

  11. A cheaper way of creating fake snow would be Epsom salt. I used it with a snow globe affect that I created.

Leave a Reply

