That Mom Blog

What boy doesn’t love a map?

2 Comments

While getting things ready for our trip, I had a sudden revelation – we are sure to hear a lot of “Are we there yet?”. Taking a trip down memory lane, I remembered how much my sisters and I would ask that question. It made me a little worried for my sanity. There had to be something I could do to help with that question. Something to help H see where it is that we are in comparison to where we are heading. Then it hit – I needed to make a map!
I hopped onto google maps, mapped out the trip, and started taking screen shots of the journey on my computer. I stitched them all together in Publisher, and added arrows to the start of our journey, and the end. (There may have been a much easier way to do it, but this was all I could think of at the time!). Rather than printing on paper and having it ripped a quarter of the way into the trip, I ordered small vinyl banner from Vistaprint (I didn’t use the entire size, and cut around it). This worked perfectly, and we could even roll it up to store.

During the trip, we would place a sticker on every place that we stopped. It would show H where we are, compared to where we needed to be. He loved it, and it also makes for a great memory of our trip!

20111117-114317.jpg

20111117-114343.jpg

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

2 thoughts on “What boy doesn’t love a map?

  1. This is absolutely brilliant! What a fabulous idea.

Leave a Reply

