That Mom Blog

Pinterest Monday ~ Pumpkin Lantern

3 Comments

I think this is the first Pin for Pinterest Monday that I had added myself.

I LOVE using my cricut, and I LOVE SVGcuts.com. They come up with the most amazing and fun things to make, so I am always watching their Facebook page and site for new ideas. When I saw them post this set a couple of months ago, I couldn’t wait to get to it. Of course, being me, I wanted to take it one step further. I thought these pumpkins would be so cute with a little battery operated tea light inside, so it would have that glowing effect.

One of the things that I really love about SVG cuts is that they often do video’s to help you with assembling your projects. Without the video, I think I would have been a little lost. I pretty much followed the instructions exactly, but made a few changes myself to get the look I was hoping for.

First thing I did was to punch out a large square in the centre of the pumpkin pieces.

After each piece was punched, I started gluing all of the pieces together, and then moved onto the lid. (I made an oops on the lid though, the top part’s tags should have been on the inside!)

After the base was assembled I cut the outer pieces. Before I cut them, I put a swirly design on it in SCAL. I distressed the outsides a little, and started gluing them into place. 

Next came the stem, which looked a lot harder than it really was, and the leaf, and it was all done! Too cute! 

I did this craft while at my moms house for Sunday dinner. Luckily she had a battery operated tea light I was able to stick inside. This would be so cute lit up at night during the cooling fall nights. 

I love the way this pumpkin turned out, and can’t wait to try the other ones in the set soon. Make sure to check out SVGcuts and all of their great projects!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

3 thoughts on “Pinterest Monday ~ Pumpkin Lantern

  1. This is amazing! I love it. You should share this at my link party over at Rustic Crafts ~ http://rustic-crafts.com/?p=2306

  2. Love! I would be thrilled if you linked up to my Wickedly Creative Halloween Ideas Party.

    http://www.itsybitsypaperblog.com/2011/09/wickedly-creative-halloween-ideas-linky.html

Leave a Reply

