That Mom Blog

Moms can be insecure too

4 Comments

I am just a week away from attending my second conference ever. I am excited, anxious, and yes, even nervous! I don’t come across the nervous type, I am a very bold, stick out, you won’t miss me in a room kind of gal, but I have to admit, I can

be pretty insecure about myself at times. I think as adults, we sometimes forget that we too can be shy and insecure.

When attending such a big event with people that
I am making a promise to myself to try to not be afraid to jump into the conversation. Introduce myself to as many people as I can. Most importantly, I am going to make sure that I make every other woman I come in contact with feel like she too is awesome. (Yes, I LOVE the word awesome!)you have never met before, itcan swing you right back into those high school days when you were afraid about fitting in. I know that when I get into big social settings I tend to find myself worrying that I am being judged. I am plus size, I am covered in tattoos, and have green hair. I get worried that people see me, and think ‘who does she think she is, and what is she doing here’. I know in most cases, this is just my insecurity speaking, and not at all true. I just need to remind myself that I am awesome. And to present my real self, I need to remember that.

Can’t wait to meet everyone next week, and please, if you are going, come say hi!

~Karen (@ThatMomTweets)

 

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

4 thoughts on “Moms can be insecure too

  1. Karen – you are who you are and that’s a good thing – keep being yourself and you’ll always win. See you at #SCCTO!

  2. You are so beyond awesome, Karen!! It’s easy for me to say that you’ve got nothing to worry about, but I’m not in your shoes. Just know that you are very likely judging yourself more than others are. If they have any negative preconceived notions about you, as soon as they speak with you (or read your blog), they will learn quickly just what a friendly, caring, smart, funny, loving person you are. You are fabulous! Have a wonderful time, I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  3. I’m so glad that I found you through the hash, look forward to meeting you! Gotta love a girl with tattoos, spunk and loves the word awesome! See you there!

  4. OY. It’s me @WhispersInspire!

Leave a comment