That Mom Blog

Throwback Thursday’s ~ Where did I come from?

Leave a comment

Ever wonder what I did before what I am doing today? Just over 3 years ago, I could have never imagined being where I am today. I had painted some friends belly’s while pregnant, and knew that someday I would want to do something around that, but had no idea I would be a belly caster. I had helped teach Baby Sign Language to my God Son, but never saw myself teaching it with an amazing company like My Smart Hands. I certainly NEVER pictured myself as a co-owner, and marketing director for a baby expo. It is amazing how much having kids can change you.

I didn’t take event planning in college. I didn’t go to an art school. I went to college for Small Business management, and dropped out two weeks in.

These businesses were not the start to my life of self employment. I have actually been self employed for almost 10 years, just in a totally different field. Just until recently, I spent over 8 years working in a Tattoo Shop, as a Body Piercer. I LOVED what I did, and pictured myself doing it until I was old and grey. As long as people still wanted to be pierced, I would be doing it. I have seen it all, and pierced it all (yes, I mean ALL of it…). I loved everything about it.

It’s been less than a year since I gave it all up. While I still do some here or there for regulars and friends, I do find myself missing it some days. I am also very proud of myself for making a change, and being where I am today.

Here are some pictures showing off some of the fun I had as a piercer!

And last but not least, one of my favorite customers, who didn’t start getting pierced until he was 73 years old! He also has both nipples and his navel!! 😉

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

