That Mom Blog

Where for the Hair?

3 Comments

I love to have fun hair. Boring, one colour, straight cut hair is not me. It never has been, no matter how many times I have tried it. I have been almost every colour of the rainbow. Been very long, and very short. Spiky, curly and straight. You name it, I have probably done it, except a mohawk, which instead, both my boys rock.

I have been through many stages where I dye my hair a normal solid colour, thinking that being a buisness owner, it was appropriate. I just never felt like me. So now, you will always see me with at least one splash of colour. It’s me. It’s my personality.

This picture is SO old, and I look so young... This was probably my most wild hair. Half Pink and half white blonde. I was so fun!

Now if only I can find a hairdresser that can cut my hair the way I want it. I have had some great haircuts, and paid a fortune for them. I have had some not so great haircuts, that were very affordable. I just can’t seem to find a middle ground.

Am I cheap to think that paying $60+ for a hair cut, plus tip is too much? Is it possible to find someone amazing for around the $25-$40 mark? I am all about Mommy splurges, but also like to be as frugal as I can be.

Are you someone who pays a lot to have your hair done? Do you go to a smaller cheaper, name brand salon? Or are you really daring, and cut it yourself?

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

3 thoughts on “Where for the Hair?

  1. I have had the same stylist for 8 years. She worked in a high price salon for 7 of them, but now she is a “mobile stylist”. Her name is Chrissy and Little Miss Hair is the name of her business and she comes to your house to cut and colour your hair. It’s been a major time saver since having a babe. The best part is that she’s very afforable now. $40 and the tip is included, since it all goes to her anyway now that the salon isn’t grabbing half. I will email you her info. -Adria

  2. I like my hair dresser and I expect to pay $50-$60 per cut, especially when she works at the higher end salons. But because I can’t afford to splurge like that regularly, I only get my hair cut once or twice a year lol. Not a great solution!

  3. I’m with Tamara, I haven’t had my hair cut in over a year (though I trim my bangs myself so I can see) but when I do get it done I’d rather pay more and get a really great cut then risk having it done poorly. When I was thirteen I paid $15.00 for a haircut that was so bad and uneven that my mother dragged me back to the store and yelled at the woman who did it.

Leave a Reply

