That Mom Blog

Pinterest Monday!

2 Comments

It was so hard for me to pick what I wanted to do from Pinterest this week, SO many choices! I was stuck between something yummy, and something crafty. Because I did yummy last week, and it seems like my house is being attacked with an evil stomach bug, crafty it was. I ended up deciding to do this Pin on my Craft Ideas board, making my jar lids pretty!  

You can follow the tutorial I followed here, or see how I did it below!

What you need:
-Scrapbook Paper (Scraps, or extra full sheets)
-Scissors
-Pen or Pencil
-Mod Podge
-Craft or Paint Brush
-Jars (I used two different kinds)

How to do it:

1. Make sure jars are clean. You can use jars you have laying around, in your recycling bin, or buy some new ones. I am using old large Jars we have had empty for months, and also bought some small ones at Ikea to keep small little tidbits in.

2. Lay your jar lids down on the back of a piece of your paper, and trace around it. You will need to then sketch a bigger circle around it to go over the sides of your lid. Because I used two different jars, the differences in the sides of the lids was very big. The small jars had a very thick lid, the glass ones had only a small lip that I had to go over. Make sure you leave enough room to be able to tuck the paper into the inside of the jar.
Cut slits about 1/4″ apart that go right up the first pencil tracing.

3. Coat the inside circle with Mod Podge and press onto the top of the lid. Lay the lid face down on surface and begin gluing strips down a couple at a time up and over the edge of the lid. Use the end of a paintbrush or scissors to tuck in to tighter spaces if you need to.  . Continue until all the strips are glued.

Tip – With the small Ikea jars, because of the seal on the inside, I stuck the lid onto the jar to help get the pieces tucked in properly. This worked really well, and allowed the seal to pop back into place with the paper behind it. (Jar on left is the one that had not been put onto the jar yet)

4. Turn lid over so pattern is facing up and coat with the Mod Podge on the top, and sides. Leave to dry for about 15 minutes before placing back onto the jar.

5. I added some glue backed ribbon around the edges of my big jars, and a couple flowers onto the small ones for just a little extra pretty.

6. Fill your new prettily topped jars with all of your fun items you need to be organized, and enjoy their new look!

I have a feeling I will be doing this to more jars, as I find things to fill them with. Next Monday, if I decide to do crafty weeks in a row, you may see what else I have planned for them!

~Karen

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

2 thoughts on “Pinterest Monday!

  1. Those are ADORABLE! I can’t wait to make some too!

  2. Pingback: 3 2 1 Cake – The perfect gift « That Mom Blog

Leave a Reply

