That Mom Blog

The Orange Cake

4 Comments

I have no idea where the past Three years have gone, but they went fast. My baby boy is THREE! H has been talking about his Birthday for months to come. He knows the day, and tells everyone he meets that he will be three, on July 31st. He shared that he would have a birthday party at Grammy’s and Papa’s, and go swimming with his friends, and get cake and presents and have SO much fun. When it came for the time to start getting things planned for the big day, we asked him what kind of cake he wanted, and his answer was Orange. He wanted an Orange cake. We asked him if he wanted a Basketball cake since they were orange. Nope, an Orange Cake. An orange #3? Nope, Orange. An Orange Treasure Chest (he is really into pirates right now). Nope, just orange.

Because I wanted him to be a part of making his cake, we took him to Bulk Barn and let him pick out some Orange Candy to decorate his cake with. We grabbed Orange candy slices, Orange jelly beans, Orange Reese’s pieces, Orange Fish, Sprinkles, and Orange coloured sugar. I took the busy mom way out and grabbed some jars of icing (much to the dismay of some people who expected our amazing homemade buttercream), and some orange food colouring. We also planned on adding the food colouring to cake to make it Orange, but to our extreme surprise, we actually found Orange cake mix! Thank you Duncan Hines! H helped me mix the cake, and the icing, and then it was time for him to leave so he could be surprised.

I made Orange bunting to top his cake, and put as much of the candy and sprinkles I could pack on. This cake, was just how he wanted it, Orange! He was so happy, and as a Mom, I was so glad to give my boy the cake he wanted. I love that we could use our imaginations together. Making a cake is so much more fun then buying one, and even more so when your toddler or child can be involved. Has your kid ever had a funny, unique request for a cake? What did you do?

 

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

4 thoughts on “The Orange Cake

  1. Wow, what an awesome looking cake. Can’t wait to do something like this with my kids!

  2. That’s a cool idea. I like the little flags. My son turned 3 on the 30th.:)

  3. I used to have a friend who made cakes for my kids parties because they had some very creative ideas for their cakes also. She made my son a treasure chest cake with candy jewls and chocolate coins spilling out. A snake cake that looked like a snake, spiderman (that was for a friends kid). For my daughter she made a my little pony cake that had a waterfal and the mini ponies all over it. Then I started making them as she had another baby was was taking a break. OH crap, what do I do?!?!?! My other daughter wanted a mickey mouse cake and I tried for the first time making my own cake from scratch and buttercream icing and fondant. What an adventure!! Then I made a barbie cake and a tinkerbell cake. Although the tinkerbell was from a box and can’s of icing. With 4 kids there doesn’t seem to be enough time to make everything from scratch!!!

Leave a Reply

