That Mom Blog

Green Smoothie?

1 Comment

Some of my mommy friends have been raving about green smoothies lately, and in my head, all I could think was YUCK. I have a really bad habit of judging food by its colour or look. I see green smoothies at the grocery store, and while most of the ingredients I like, just the fact that it is green turns me off.

I have been feeling a little crumby lately and felt it was time for a change. I found myself craving something new, refreshing, and healthy when I saw one of my friends post a not so delicious looking green smoothie on her Facebook page. With a sudden rush of bravery, I went to the grocery store to get my ingredients. Kale, Kiwi, Frozen Peaches, and some fresh, amazing smelling nectarines. I really had no idea what I was doing, but went off what I saw her post was in hers. As soon as I got home, I dug out the blender, and started filling it with my newly required groceries, some water, and some ice. A little chicken, I had my husband taste it first, seeking his approval. He thought it was pretty tasty, so I took a deep breath, squirmed a little bit, and took my first sip……It was good! Actually, it was really good!

My first ever Green Smoothie!

I was so proud of myself for trying something new. I even got both the boys to try it, and Q just kept asking for more and more. I am looking forward to diving in now, and trying some new concoctions. I think next time will be some spinach, strawberries, and peaches.

Be sure to check out my friends blog, Fortuitously Frugal, to learn more about green smoothies!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

One thought on “Green Smoothie?

  1. I’m thrilled that I could be a part of your green smoothie adventure! I’m thrilled you and the family liked it. I love that Q is nuts for it, so is K. As I said to you, just keep trying things out and adjusting to taste. You have a lot of flexibility, so long as you stick to greens + fruit + water. Skip the dairy, seeds, nuts, sweeteners. And remember to rotate your greens regularly. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

