That Mom Blog

Babywearing

2 Comments

Anyone who knows me, knows I love to ‘wear’ my babies. I wear them at home, at the mall, when I go for a walk, and even doing the groceries. Don’t know what I am talking about? I am talking about Babywearing!

“Babywearing is the practice of wearing or carrying a baby or child in a sling or other form of carrier.” -Wikipedia.

I was introduced to Babywearing by a good friend, and instantly fell in love. I would always offer to ‘wear’ her baby when we were out and about. I loved the feeling of have the baby so close, snuggled in, while still being able to push my Godson’s stroller, or carry our grocery bags. I started buying everyone I knew ring slings for their baby showers.

Before my first son was even born, I had started putting together my collection. First, a custom made ring sling in a tattoo styled fabric. Second, a Baby Hawk mei tai carrier – Pictured above, when Baby H met his Papa for the first time (He was in China for the Olympics when he was born). I am really excited to be trying out some new baby carriers soon, that I will be reviewing for Tamara at (Check out her Babywearing project blog here: http://daisydays.ca/blog/?category_name=babywearing).

There are many benefits to Babywearing, my favorite being the bond that is created from mom and baby being so close. I am so excited to be able to offer Babywearing workshops in our upcoming Mommy Connections classes, and sharing my love for it with all the new moms I come in contact with.

-Karen

Resources:

The Baby Wearer : http://www.thebabywearer.com/

Daisy Days : http://daisydays.ca/

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

2 thoughts on “Babywearing

  1. I really wanted to wear my babies as well, but with twins I found it hard once they got a bit bigger and I never really figured out how to do it smoothly and still have use of my arms lol!

  2. And for all u men hubby/partners out there i found these slings a god send , when i got to wear them ,it was hard to get it before my very eager wife :), now iff we had twins i would have had no trouble ,his and hers slings lol . but for the man in the relationship a must have accessory ,these things make everyday life so much easier and the bonding between child and parent is invaluable, what type or style is individual but the outcome for me at least was five stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

