That Mom Blog

That type of Mom

4 Comments

Have you ever referred to yourself, or been referred to as a certain type of Mom? Just last week I saw one of those Facebook apps that quiz you to tell you just what kind of mom you are. I am not going to get into how ludicrous the questions were (like how many tattoos, or piercings you have… Does that really dictate they type of mom I am?) but it did get me thinking about the type of Mom that I am.

I think before i had kids, I put myself in the ‘tough, no B.S. mom category’. Kids needed to know who was boss (Sometimes I am sure mine are the boss of me). I told my friends how they really needed to get their baby out of their bed (Ours is 8 months, and still co-sleeping). I told a very close friend that she was crazy for cloth diapering, (I ended up buying all my cloth from her when she started selling them). I guess I didn’t quite turn out to be that Mom that I thought I would be, and I am more than okay with that.

I breastfeed, and formula feed. I co-sleep. I use both cloth and disposable diapers. I am a baby wearer. I let my 2 1/2 year old eat Ice cream and McDonald’s. I fed my infant his first solid food at 5 months. I am self employed so I can be home with my kids as much as possible, but I am a workaholic. I do some things that some people think are wrong, and some people think are right. But I love and care for my children with all my heart and soul. I make sure they are happy, and fed, and taken care of.

So I guess I can’t tell you what ‘type’ of Mom I am, but I believe in my heart that I will always strive to be the best mom that I can be to my boys, and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

4 thoughts on “That type of Mom

  1. Wonderful picture, Karen! And great post. There is so much pressure on us new-ish moms to conform to some sort of ideal, depending on our philosophy and that of our friends and family. Finding my own parenting groove took some time, but I’m now confident that I’m being authentic. I know there’s much I can improve upon and I’m working on that. It’s nice to hear from another mom that moms come in many different flavours. (Does that make us “Yummy Mummys”?)

  2. Love this! It’s so true 🙂 I mean, look at the love in the photo?! If you’re “that” mom, then you’re doing everything right.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention That type of Mom « That Mom Blog -- Topsy.com

  4. Love it!!!!!

Leave a Reply

