That Mom Blog

Travelling with Kids

Leave a comment

We are finishing up our last day in Florida today. This was our first Family vacation, first plane trip with the children, and my first time to Florida in over 20 years! While I am not a seasoned traveller by any means, I thought I would share a few tips that I found really helped us.

1. Check the weather of your destination before you pack – While Florida is known to be the Sunshine State, we carefully kept our eyes on the weather for the area we were travelling to so we had an idea of what to pack. This time of year it is such a toss up with the weather. Unfortunately for us, there was a huge range which meant lots different clothes. If I didn’t check the weather, I would have assumed to pack mostly summer type clothes, and would have had some cold little men.

2. Bring some comforts from home – We made sure to pack some of the boys favorite toys and books. Just a few, but enough that we were able to keep them occupied on cooler days or while spending time indoors. We brought H’s pillow case to slip over his pillow here. This was really helpful in putting him to sleep at night, because to him, it was HIS pillow.

3. Leave room in your luggage – We bought so many clothes, at wonderful deals. We made sure to leave enough room in our luggage to get some new things in. This is key if you know you are heading somewhere you plan on doing shopping. One great tip my dad gave me for coming home, is to roll up your clothes into little tubes. I can’t believe how much more we were able to pack into the suitcases this way!

4. MAKE A LIST! – This is probably one of the most important things with travelling. I always make lists, and this time I didn’t. I thought the list in my head would be just fine, and I was close, but we did forget to pack one thing – DIAPERS! We barely had enough to get us to our destination! It is no fun when you forget something important.

Just a few things I found helpful, that I hope you will too! Watch for my blog post next week on how our new Sunshine Kids Car Seat helped make our travelling experience even better!

Author: That Mom Blog

I am a blue haired, tattooed, hard working Mom to 2 wonderful little boys, 3 baby related businesses, and a Mom Blog. Working hard at rediscovering me, getting into shape, and trying to balance it all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

